Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists and instead of locals.

Why is this happening?

What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

In recent days, it is found that there is a huge increase in the number of foreigners paying a visit to museums and historical places rather than local people. This is because it has nothing new to offer and can be solved by encouraging schools and colleges to include it as part of educational trips.

People are more interested to travel to different places or countries rather than exploring their surroundings. One major reason people love to travel is to release stress or break from the daily routine. Museums and historical locations lack fun and entertainment, as a result of which people would not like to travel to these places more than once or twice. For example, a recent survey stated that museums and historical monuments are losing charm and originality because of poor maintenance.

This can be resolved by encouraging and educating young youths about the importance of cherishing their cultural heritage and museums. So it is vital to include this as a mandatory subject for high school students to pass the academic year. Additionally, volunteers should be made to organise events at regular intervals with some entertainment factors to attract local visitors. Thus, by making some ammendments we can bring a change and increase the interest of the local people.

To recapitulate, although tourist helps in increasing the economy, it is indispensable for locals to have knowledge and interest in the museums and cultural locations. we can safeguard the interest of local people to pay a visit through means of education and youths.