Lifestyle has undergone dramatic changes over a couple of decades. Presently, majority of people have materialistic attitudes and they tend to buy things unnecessarily without considering their needs and requirements. Here, i would like to account for reasons and mention this trend has negative outcomes for the society.

There are manifold reasons behind this happening. First and foremost, advertisements play a phenomenal role to encourage people towards unnecessary shopping. To demonstrate, nowadays people watch variety of adverts that are endorsed by their favourite celebrities. As a result, they get influenced to buy things whether they need or not. What is more, marketing strategies of companies also tempt people towards shopping for latest consumer durables. To be specific, exciting offers such as buy one get one free, gorgeous packaging, free gifts and special offers given by enterprises allure people towards buying things. Hence, people are psyched up by adverts to do shopping for trivial things.

There are manifold drawbacks of this trend. First and foremost, excessive consumerism is leading to the problem of rubbish these days. To justify, most of household things are replaced frequently by the new stuff. more and more use of goods is leading to rise in the production of waste material. A massive number of things are discarded and thrown to landfill sites. Thus, the problem of rubbish is on the elevation and it has become a worrying concern for ecology. Furthermore, people are becoming spendthrift as they believe in buying things which they may not need in daily life.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, The trend of buying more and more is leading to hike in the price of goods. To justify, the demand of different consumer durables is exceeding to supply and therefore manufactures are hiking the prices of products. Hence, it is upsurging burden on the pockets of customers. What is more, many things that are made by non biodegradable material can not be recycled easily. Thus, it can cause environmental issues.

To recapitulate, shopping has become part and parcel of our lives. Undeniably, buying things in excess has few merits. However, the negative results of this trend outweigh positives.