Nowadays people can buy a large variety of household goods, more than ever before in most countries in the world. Is this a good or bad development? Give your opinion and examples.

With the advent of advanced technology, modern people have currently more choices to purchase different kinds of household products, compared to the past. In this essay, I will address that negative and positive influence that this trend would have on people's lives and the whole society since it has merits and demerits.

To begin with, I think enabling people to buy a wide range of household items would be advantageous to people's lives. Primarily, with the help of increased options, customers could decide any kinds of products that are more suitable for their lifestyle and living environment. More importantly, this would improve the quality of life since they are more likely to be satisfied with their purchase when they compare various home items. For example, in a recent survey in South Korea, many single households reported that they experienced satisfactory shopping in the wake of various options of house appliances that are specially tailored to people living alone. Obviously, they do not need to buy family-sized rice cooker which used to be the only option in the past.

Having said that, due to various kinds of home products, there are several drawbacks to the whole society. The more people have choices, the more they are inclined to buy items, even though they are not necessary. This would not only promote compulsive shopping habits in society, but it would also <font color="#000000" face="Times New Roman"><span style="font-size: 18.6667px;">increase rubbish, hence, </span></font>exacerbating environmental degradation regarding waste management. In particular, e-waste is problematic since toxic pollutants from it such as mercury are easily absorbed into soil and water in the landfill. Additionally, this would be severe because customers are attracted to various appliances from automated vacuum cleaners to multifunctional fridges which make house chores easier than ever.

To surmise, I think increased access to various household goods cuts both ways in terms of more customer choices, but promoting compulsive buying and compounding the environment ills.