Some people believe that for a hobby to be enjoyable it should be hard to acquire or learn. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since hobbies play a role in improving the quality of life, having enjoyable activities is significant in people's lives. In this regard, there is an opinion that hobbies should be challenging to learn to make them entertaining. I disagree with this idea because of its negative impacts on their learning and health.

To begin with, there are several reasons why I am not in favor of having difficult pursuits. Primarily, if people try challenging activities, people would more likely lose motivation, which would eventually lead them to give up quickly. This is because they may not feel excitement while learning some skills which require a higher level of knowledge and capabilities. For instance, in a recent survey in South Korea, it turned out that most people have a tendency to find more joy from activities that allow them to easily access each level of skills, thereby, gaining a strong sense of achievement.

Secondly, demanding hobbies could be detrimental to people's physical and mental health. Obviously, people could easily get stressed by virtue of its difficult skills that they cannot attain, which could result in lower self-esteem and life satisfaction. More importantly, the reason people take part in activities as hobbies is that they may want to find joy to relieve stress from work. If they feel frustrated and they are stressed even during their leisure time, this would definitely bring about stress-related illness such as headache and anxiety. Therefore, hobbies should be easy to learn for people's healthy life.

To surmise, although some believe that leisure activities should be harsh for its entertainment, I oppose this because this would adversely influence people's quality of life.