Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities Is this a positive or negative development

It is true that people, in recent decades, have become increasingly reliant on technology for leisure activities. While this trend has both negative and positive aspects, I believe that the disadvantages will overshadow the advantages.

On the one hand, spending spare time using technological advances for entertainment will bring about several positive impacts. First, it can be an effective way for workers to maintain a work-life balance. For example, after a hard-working day, people have to do household chores or homework, thanks to the development of technology they can engage in recreational activities at home, such as watching films, which enables them to release stress significantly. Second, by taking advantage of technology for leisure activities, individuals can get a chance to expand their social circle. Some social media platforms like Facebook, in fact, allow users to not only stay in touch with their relationships but also connect with others across the world, which contributes to fostering globalization.

On the other hand, I would argue that the pitfalls of using the advances in technology are more significant than the benefits. In terms of physical problems, it is a primary culprit behind a sedentary lifestyle in society, especially among the younger generation. Students, nowadays, tend to devote almost their free time to taking screen-time activities, including playing video games, leading to a lack of physical exercise, contributing to an increase in the obesity rate. Furthermore, overusing technology can give rise to adverse effects on mental health. In other words, users are more likely to suffer mental issues, such as impaired vision or sleep disorder, due to excessive exposure to technology

In conclusion, I consider that reliance on technology to fill leisure time can help people in certain aspects, however, it causes substantially detrimental effects on not only physical problems but also mental ones.