Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is that? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

Transporting by bicycle is increasingly less popular among people due to many reasons. This essay will shed light on the causes as well as the respective solutions to this problem.

The reason why people use bicycles less as a way of transport is mainly because of the lack of convenience it brings compared to other means of transportation. Nowadays, many people need to move between cities every day with the distance can be up to hundreds of miles, hence, moving by bike sound impossible. Furthermore, the ability to ensure passengers feel comfortable on journeys in bad weather is very limited, while cars or planes can prevent travelers from extreme weather conditions effects. In addition, safety is also an issue that should be considered because people can hardly ride safely and comfortably on the road which is shared with cars and motorbikes that are moving at high speeds.

However, there are some efficient ways to encourage people to use bike as a method of transport with the government playing the most important role. Cities and towns should improve bike infrastructure by investing in building bike lanes, creating secure bike parking, and implementing other amenities that make cycling safer and more convenient and encourage more people to take up cycling as a viable transportation option. Moreover, bike-sharing schemes should be considered more to provide access to bicycles for people who do not own their own bikes, making cycling a more accessible option. Besides, bicycle manufacturers should also improve their products, so that customers can avoid the influence of the weather.

In conclusion, cycling, despite its environmental benefits, has become an uncommon sight in the modern world for a variety of reasons and the government should take quick steps to address this condition.