Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In this day and age, a great amount of food bought from shops and restaurants is being thrown away spontaneously. I do believe that excessive buying of food products is the main reason behind food wastage, and changing food-consuming habits as well as reducing the quantity of food items would significantly mitigate this problem.

The primary reason is people are failing to make a detailed plan of what they are going to buy before they shop. This leads to a consequence that they consume and mostly order more than they need, and excessive food items would be thrown away. Normally, people want to taste different delicious dishes, and in the last, it is difficult for them to finish all the ordered foodstuffs resulting in wasteful food. I personally witness this situation many times while I participate in parties in restaurants with friends. Attendees order more food items and they are unable to finish all these food in the end.

Some effective measurements could be implemented to alleviate this situation. Firstly, hotel owners should reduce the quantity of food being served to customers. In this way, people can order as many dishes as they wish without worrying about any waste. According to Havard's research, nearly 50% of food wastage can be reduced at restaurants if the quantity of served food is reduced by 20% more than its current quantity. Secondly, people should develop a habit of making a list of ingredients and foodstuffs that they really need before going shopping. This could help customers to have time to prepare and decide wisely what food items should be brought, which would prevent a great deal of food from being thrown away.

In conclusion, ordering extravagant food items that one can enjoy is the main reason why food is being wasted, and the reduction in food quantity, as well as a smart shopping habit, could be feasible for all of us in the war against food wastage.