Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

There is no gainsaying the fact that credit and debit cards are becoming a common modality for purchases these days, and a day will come when their counterpart the paper currency will become obsolete. Although the popularity of plastic money is increasing among some cohorts of the society, there is no denying the fact that these e-transactions are flawed to a certain extent. Firstly, this essay will analyze how cards have made transactions convenient and hassle free, followed by shedding some light on the adverse effects such as cloning and cyber fraud.

To initiate with the benefits of electronic transactions over banknotes and coins. First and foremost, cards have made it easier for people to shop online. To be precise, should anybody want to shop nowadays, they can just browse through the internet, purchase the required item and tender the exact sum of money through their card. For example, Amazon during the Corona pandemic saw a sharp rise of about 33% because people preferred to shop from the convenience of their house. Moreover, cards and online transactions are hassle free as one does not need to queue up in front of a bank to transfer money. Hence, plastic money has helped people to save time and shop in peace within their homes.

On the flip side, solely relying on cards for transactions has a few drawbacks. Primarily, these cards can be easily cloned by technological wizards. To explain this, both credit and debit cards are made in a certain manner, replication of these cards by thieves can aid them in stealing your money without your knowledge. For instant, The Hindu newspaper published information on some bandits who used plastics films and micro cameras to clone the cards in the city Amritsar. Not only cloning, but cyber fraud is also quite prevalent these days in many countries. In other words, people use the internet as a source to hack any information pertaining to your cards and clean your accounts without any trace. Therefore, electronic transactions have certain undeniable disadvantages which cannot be overlooked.

All in all, to conclude, the growing popularity of cards for being convenient and easy to use has surpassed the banknotes and coins; however, it cannot be denied that fraudulent replication and cyber-crime pertaining to these cards is still insistent. I hope people better understand the use of electronic transactions thoroughly to avoid any mishaps.