Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of that?

There is no gainsaying the fact that a major portion relating to the upliftment of developing countries is done multinational companies, as they find it suitable and reasonable to establish their offices in underdeveloped countries rather than their own. Although, them opening their outlets in poorer countries has certain benefits not only for them but also for the inhabitants of the country, there is no denying the fact that there are some minor drawbacks such as human rights violation and no job security as well.

To initiate with the benefits for the companies and also for the people. First and foremost, the advent of multinational companies in developing countries has increased the job prospects of many individual residing there. To be precise, the people of such countries found ample amount of work and were paid much better than they would elsewhere. In other words, they attained job satisfaction and it also led to an increased standard of living. For example, according to a survey conducted by Indian Census in 2010, after Amazon and Google opening their offices in Bangalore, the G.D.P of India rose to about 2% and the jobless ness decreased by 0.2% approximately. Moreover, should these multinationals have started their business in developed countries, they would not attain the fruits of cheap labor and increased work hours. Hence, the advantages that both of people and these companies gain are unsurmountable.

On the flip side, there are some issues that cannot be overlooked. Primarily, increasing work hours in 3rd world countries has become a source of benefit for the multinational sector, but it is taking a toll on the health of the people working for them. This is because such companies’ main motto is mass production, which requires time and in doing so they are abusing basic human rights of the locals. The Hindu, in its weekly magazine, posted an article saying that more and more were ripped of their basic rights of 5 days a week and were made to work extra-long hours on the pretense of more money. Second to this is the fact that there is a very minimal job security when it comes to working for such companies as for them humans are as dispensable as machines.

To reiterate, Although, there are these undeniable factors of human rights abuse and no job security; however, the vast benefits that come with the arrival of such multinational companies to a developing country cannot be denied as it not only boosts their economy but also serves for the needs of their people.