Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works by using the computer. Do you agree or disagree?

In the age of information technology, many people believe that Internet can replace the needed of museums and art exhibitions since all historical objects and works are available on websites. I strongly disagree with this point of view for some reasons.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons that convince people to choose the Internet as the source of historical objects and works information. Firstly, The Internet provides audiences with an enormous amount of free historical information which is easily accessible in the most convenient way. Actually, by a finger click, people can get various kinds of information about an artwork from the author to materials. Secondly, online museums and exhibitions offer customers remarkable services that cannot be found at the real ones. For example, there is no time limit or restricted information data on the Internet, people can access from local to global historical sources of information at any time of the day.

On the other hand, real museums and exhibitions are crucial and play as an indispensable part of the society. The first reason is that since museums and galleries are managed by a group of experts who have deep knowledge about the historical objects, the provided information is verified and more reliable. Additionally, it is undoubted that firsthand experience is more interested than imagined experience. In other words, no matter how real and vivid computer images are, they are only images and can never express adequate values of historical objects and works like that we see in real and even might be touch with our fingertips. Furthermore, museums and art exhibitions place an important role in attracting foreign tourists who are keen on understanding country’s customs and traditional values and consequently contribute not only to globalize local cultural knowledge but also to increase government revenue.

To sum up, even though the online-based information is a great way to learn about historical works and objects, museums and exhibitions are still important for real experience and irreplaceable.