Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works by using computer. Do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of the computer, it remains a controversy that whether conventional museums and art galleries should maintained or discontinued since people can search for historical relics online. In my opinion, while high technology offers great benefits, traditional museums and galleries have their own merits and should be kept intact.

To begin with, computers give people a new convenient method to study historical objects and famous art. With a few clicks, individuals’ can have access to a massive amount of information about any type of relics without having to go somewhere else to search for. For instance, typing ‘Vietnamese traditional drum’ in Google search and simply hitting the ‘Enter’ button will result in a list of information about this drum’s origin, other fascinating features, and images. Same actions could be done to search artistic works such as paintings and sculptures thanks to the global access of the computers. To sum up, using technology would be definitely more convenient when people want to learn about historical items and works.

However, public museums and art galleries should not be underestimated in this technology era. Firstly, there are a majority of people who are really enthusiastic and interested in relics and art. These individuals usually prefer going to the museums and galleries to feast their eyes and admire the actual items to just viewing pictures on the internet. Secondly, since the antiques and artistic works must not be destroyed and should be stored somewhere, art galleries and museums act as storages and showcases at the same time for economic purpose. As a result, these locations not only help to preserve precious legacies but also gain profit which could be used in other activities such as charity.

In conclusion, despite the privileges that computers offer are enormous, public museums and art galleries still have an important role in preserving historical objects and works. Thus, these places should be allowed to continue their business.