It is true that thanks to the involvement of business firms, sports has transformed into a prosperous industry with a higher income for athletes. While the advantages stemming from this tendency can be witnessed, its disadvantages are also discernible.

On the one hand, there are two major positive impacts when more money is poured into sports. To begin with, in comparison to their predecessors, present sports professionals are paid a significantly higher income. As a result, not only does it assure them a decent life and bring about job satisfaction, but also stimulates gifted youngsters to pursue the industry, which can contribute to more talented successors for a nations’ sports. In addition, besides professionals, amateur players and citizens can take the advantage from this tendency as well. Indeed, it is obvious that an enormous influx of money motivates organizations to channel their budget into upgrading and expanding sports infrastructure, and this can provide residents with sufficient facilities to exploit and build up their strengths.

On the other hand, sports commercialization is considered to pose challenges to the Olympic ideal. Particularly, financial interest is always distributed unequally, in which winners receive a more favorable treatment, so this accidentally form a win-at-all-cost attitude among competitors. Consequently, if the competitive spirit is taken to extreme, it is thought to diminish sportsmanship, which is overshadowed by cheating. For example, statistics have indicated that when sponsorship for tournaments expanded, incidence of athletes using performance-enhancing drugs increased in a proportional manner. In fact, sports agendas have strictly punished moral character erosion by disqualifying offending players from participating. However, since the rewards remain abundant, many competitors are still driven by greed and likely to turn into crime even at the expense of their career, making that measure unable to resolve the problem thoroughly.

In conclusion, a massive investment in sports may be beneficial, but its drawbacks should not be overlooked.