Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras).In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of technology, these days people are being surveilled through cellphone tracking and security cameras and many of them do not know about it which is going on. In my opinion, it has both merits and demerits.

There are many reasons why it is necessary. The first reason is that it is beneficial for the safety of masses, By knowing the local activities, the authorities are better able to guarantee their security and save people from any attack. For example, many bombings can be prevented through proper checks and better surveillance. Another reason is that If bureaucracy knows the feelings of their inhabitants, they will be able to set better laws for them. For instance, foreign and local policies are being made according to the wishes of people of their country. As a result, there will be no strike occur which may help the country to progress further. Therefore, it is essential to monitor them for their own survival.

On the other hand, many people think that it has many drawbacks. Firstly, breach of privacy of individuals of which they not know is a criminal offence. No one has the right to surveillance them without their consent because they are not criminals. Secondly, if education is adequate, there will be no need of doing monitoring such as in the most developed city, like Sweden, security cameras are very limited. Hence, it is cleared that it is also some issue.

In conclusion, with the advancement in technology, tracking of people activities secretly is become a normal routine of the government with very little awareness in people and according to me, it has both uses and uselessness.