Nowadays, teenagers seem to be suffering from a variety of eating disorders. On the one hand, obesity amongst the young is at record levels while at the same time, anorexia nervosa is becoming more and more common, sometimes with fatal results. Why have young people’s eating habits become so unbalanced? What could parents and teachers do to ensure young people have healthier diets? Support your opinion with examples and explanations.

The pace of life is such in our days that our lifestyles have become hectic, stressful and a persistent race against the clock. Nutrition, it would seem, is one area that has suffered as a result of this hustle and bustle of daily life, with teenagers becoming susceptible to eating disorders such as obesity or anorexia. The causes behind such disorders are not complicated to deduce, making solutions to these problems then become readily available.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why adolescents fall prey to eating disorders. The first is the pressure put on their time which forces them to grab a quick bite instead of allowing them to sit down to a home-made, healthier meal. Extra-curricular activities, mounds of assignments, and textbook pages to cover, pressure from their parents to achieve high grades in school all contribute to less time available to nourishing meals. Add to this the fact that parents are also chained to jobs which allow them little time to prepare nutritious lunches and dinners, and you end up with the perfect formula for obesity.

Another related cause of unhealthy eating has to do with the availability of fast food. This extremely tasty kind of food is present in almost every supermarket and diners selling it are found in practically all major cities and towns. How can anyone resist the delicious burgers, hotdogs, tacos, and pizzas that are effortlessly obtainable, speedily delivered, and in most cases reasonably priced? With so many additives and taste enhancers, teens are sure to get hooked and are bound to become overweight leading some to become anorexic in order to combat the extra pounds this type of food entails.

The final reason deals with anorexia and the images the media presents viewers with. Thin models prancing about in adverts or on catwalks and magazine covers promoting extremely lean, almost skeletal bodies push teens to compel themselves to look like the unattainable ideal image the media endorses, regardless if that body is dangerously thin.

To counterbalance all this, it is the job of teachers and parents to show youngsters the way. First off, parents should budget their time and have meals prepared beforehand so that their children can bring healthy, balanced lunches with them to school or, if they are not expected to be home by dinner, have home-cooked, ready-to-heat meals waiting for them in the fridge. This will ensure that children have no excuse to complain about having to spend time cooking for themselves on the one hand, while on the other a wholesome meal is guaranteed. Both parents and teachers should talk freely about body images, advertising gimmicks, the dangers of obesity, binge eating, and purging by sitting down with children or students and watching documentaries on the topic or striking up heart-to-heart conversations. School should even incorporate cooking lessons to demonstrate how just a few minutes of fun and creativity can give the nutrients you need to stay healthy, monitor your weight, and give you energy. Last but not least, teachers and parents ought to set a good example and eat healthily themselves, as no teen is likely to take an adult seriously when they see that adult doing the precise opposite of what they preach.

Taking everything into account, once the causes of obesity and anorexia and other eating disorders become clear, the ways to combat them also become evident. Teenagers must become aware of the dangers of eating unhealthy food or purging to stay thin or else they will have to face severe health issues later in life.