In the contemporary society, tourism has indeed become a major industry in many countries, contributing significantly to their national income. While some suppose this growth in tourism creates new occupation opening for local people, others think that it endangers to natural environment, in particular wildlife habitat. This essay seeks to discuss the impact of tourism in relation to the merits and demerits it impacts.

On the one hand, tourists require services such as transportation, accommodation renting or food and beverage. Therefore, the residents are capable of accelerating the local economy from cuisine or house-renting, which can enhance their quality of life. This is strikingly exemplified by big companies which provides service for tourists so that they have an unforgettable experience in that landscape. This can bring more business and cultural collaborations in long terms, which fosters the development of national economy and spend it on the constructions and improvements of both the landscapes and the service quality. As a result, the residents make their living by working for such organizations as tour guides with a well-paid salary. Furthermore, the development of tourism also helps local people to introduce their traditions and cultures. To illustrate, tourists came to Bat Trang village , which is traditionally renowned for its pottery-making, to buy some souvenirs or to experience how to make a pottery. Therefore, the workshop's owner can propagandize its tradition and culture through handicrafts to any tourists from all over the world.

Notwithstanding, mass tourism can have a detrimental impact on the environment. Overcrowding, pollution, and the construction of tourism infrastructure can harm fragile ecosystems and damage natural beauty. To illustrate, travelers have the propensity to transport by their private vehicles, most commonly are cars and motorcycles. This has such a noticeable impact on the environment as these kinds of vehicles exhaust gases, fumes, which causes pollution. This makes the animals, particularly endangered ones who live in such polluted environment have lung diseases and consequently, the wildlife habitat is on the verge of extinction. In addition, not only do the animals have to face, but the people also suffer from. Popular tourist destinations struggle to cope with the strain on their infrastructure, leading to issues like traffic congestion and if it is not remedied, the implications could encompass the increasing rates of accidents, therefore, many people have to suffer from the loss of their beloved ones, who mean the most important to them.

From my perspective, I firmly believe that its advantageous side are outweighed by the adverse ones as there is no denying that the existence of wildlife and people are the most important compared to any of the benefits that tourism bring.

In conclusion, the growth of tourism has make such a substantial contribution to the development of a country in economy and local life. However, it is undeniable that the demerits it causes affect significantly to human beings and wildlife. Therefore, people had better raise awareness of tourism and protect the environment.