There is no doubt that tourism is one of the most worthwhile contributors to national income. In this following essay, both the benefits and the drawbacks of it will be analyzed clearly and offer my own opinion as well.

Keeping an eye on the bright side, tourism is considered to be an indispensable tool to promote the image of the country. Thanks to tourism, the local stand a good chance of introducing the tradition, culture to people from other parts of the world. Due to the fact that the uniqueness of national identity makes an impression on visitors, the country obviously lure an enormous number of visitors especially foreigners. Besides, tourism plays an important role in fostering the national income. Attracting a large number of visitors creates business for the local residents. As a result of paying a visit to a new place, the visitors have to pay money for accommodation, cuisine, souvenirs, so on. This clearly accelerates the income of not only the nation but also the residents.

Nevertheless, there is a point against the advantages of tourism which is spoiling the environment. Nowadays, many famous destinations are covered in rubbish especially plastic waste. For a prime example, beaches are full of plastic bottles, plastic bags littered directly by visitors. This does damage to underwater pieces seriously as they may accidentally eat plastic waste, which takes their life and lead to an imbalanced ecosystem.

Thanks to what have been analyzed about the pros and cons of tourism, I reach the conclusion that the merits of tourism outweigh the demerits if people raise their awareness of protecting the natural environment.

In conclusion, what we can take advantage of tourism is much more than what it causes to us. Therefore, I take side the bright side of tourism.