It is believed that face-to-face contact is being replaced by using social media in daily life. From my perspective, although this development is disadvantageous to some extent, its drawbacks are eclipsed by its benefits.

Granted, it is understandable why some might subscribe to the viewpoint that online means of socialization has a range of disadvantages. The first rationale for this is that it makes people lose their social skills, given that individuals who use social media for communicating tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. For example, Facebook users will be lazier to communicate in person due to its convenient chatting function. As a result, it can affect body language, facial expressions and the way people communicate. Another notable argument for this is that social media can reduce the quality of relationships. This is because people do not have enough authentic experience and information to check whether it is a scam or not. Consequently, the intimacy that appears when meeting face-to-face can be lost.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, there are compelling reasons to believe that it is more beneficial to contact through social media. First and foremost, it can facilitate connectivity among people, considering that individuals are keeping in touch with others conveniently. To illustrate, people who have long-distance relationships are still able to maintain and get along well with others. For this reason, people will not have any geographical boundaries. To add credence to my argument, individuals can express themselves freely on the Internet. In fact, there are a large number of people who are socially awkward, with this use of social media, each person is more likely to have their own freedom of speech. This is a compelling testament to show that people can expand a large social network and find like-minded friends.

In conclusion, I would restate my position that while there are certain drawbacks of using social media, its advantages are more significant.