It is proposed that increasing the fuel’s price is the optimal way to mitigate the Earth’s problems. From my perspective, although this policy is beneficial to some extent, it is not the best approach.

Granted, it is understandable why some might subscribe to the viewpoint that raising the price of fuel has a range of positive impacts. The first rationale for this is that it can reduce the consumption of fuel, given that people are reluctant to pay extra for using them. For example, when fuel is at a higher price, people are discouraged from overusing them unnecessarily but are encouraged to consume wisely for other choices. As a result, environmental problems and the polluted air from vehicles can be gradually decreased. Another notable argument for this is that higher prices on fuel can generate additional revenue that can be allocated towards the environment. In fact, this revenue can contribute to broader efforts in protecting the environment. Consequently, the environment will be more well-protected thanks to this revenue.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, there are more compelling reasons to believe that it is far from being the best way. First and foremost, raising the cost of fuel has its limited effectiveness. In fact, price increases alone may not be sufficient to significantly deal with environmental problems. For this reason, while higher prices of fuel might deter some individuals from purchasing fuel, others may still be willing to pay the increased costs due to the need of transportation and lack of alternative options. More importantly, it is better to adopt a holistic approach to tackle these worldwide environmental problems, this includes collaborators between governments, educators and communities to address the factors. For example, regarding education, it is essential to have an education program about the environment which aims at enhancing awareness and long-term behaviors. In terms of government, bringing out environmental campaigns plays a vital role to make people get exposed to useful information. Therefore, environmental problems can be easily addressed and solved.

In conclusion, I would restate my position that while there are certain advantages of making the price of fuel higher, I do not think it is the most efficient way.