nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Nowadays, more rubbish is produced by us and needed to be produced. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainly as to the causes of the problem and how it might be resolved. In this essay, I will examine the issue and seek some possible solutions.

To begin with, in regard to causes, it is undeniable that people are willing to discard their old devices instead of keeping them for a long time. With the development of technology, productivity of producers increased dramatically. Some products like electronic devices are not as expensive as them used to be, the public can therefore afford to replace their belongings frequently to follow the tide. In addition, lacking of environmental awareness brings tons of waste in our daily life. People do not know how to classify and recycle their wastes, which causes much pressure to rubbish producing. For example, some recyclable rubbish like plastic bottles, paper and cans are thrown away mixed with other rubbish by mistaken.

On the other hand, as to solutions, governments should enforce laws the deter the public from throwing away rubbish. For example, setting tax to some disposable products like plastic bag can discourage the consumption of them and reduce the number of rubbish. Furthermore, schools and communities ought to raise people’s awareness of environmental protection, teaching them to change their consumption customs as well as classify and recycle rubbish.

To summarize, there is no doubt that reasons for the increasing number of rubbish are incorrect consumption sense and weaken environmental awareness. At the same time, however, governments and social organizations could solve the issue by legislation and education.