Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening. What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It is true that the amount of waste produced by habitants and industrial factories saw a significant increase over many past decades. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that governments could take some effective actions and suggest measures to improve the situation perfectly.

There are various reasons why the amount of rubbish raised significantly throughout history. Firstly, overpopulation was the biggest problem, which certainly leads to higher demands for hospitable facilities, manufacturing clothes and food packages. As a result, a great deal of waste was given out. Secondly, the improvement of the waste treatment system could not keep pace with the speed of industrial revolutionary, so a large amount of untreated waste was discharged into rivers or oceans. Last but not least, it is common to use plastic bags in almost situations of our lives, and people tend to throw away these bags after using once time only, not into garbage bins, but into everywhere around us.

In my opinion, our government plays an essential role to cut the amount of rubbish produced by enforced regulations and awareness education. Our government should put more taxes on the packaging, especially plastic package, and offer some recycling services in public to drop the amount of garbage around us. Another suggestion is that the government needs to raise the awareness of students about harmful effects when people discharge waste into the environment through learning materials as well as provide them with some useful methods to recycle effectively in their own houses.

In conclusion, there are many typical reasons contributing to the increase in the garbage in our society, and the government has the responsibility to eliminate that issue. From my point of view, the government needs to raise the awareness of citizens to step-by-step prevent bad consequences in the future.