Internet when used as a source of information, has more drawbacks than advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that despite the widespread popularity of the Internet, there are many significant advantages when people use the Internet for searching information. In my opinion, the detrimental effects of the Internet are more significant than the benefits.

On the one hand, the Internet provides us with a large number of benefits if people use it wisely. Firstly, the speed of searching information on the Internet was absolutely outstanding. With the presence of the Internet around almost every corner of the world, people with computers or portable devices can access huge storage of knowledge in a multitude of fields very quickly. In fact, students could read e-books on the Internet in lieu of buying directly from bookstores at a high price. Moreover, the Internet nowadays has unfolded the possibility to upload video and audio resources, which greatly improves the quality of knowledge searched by workers and students as people could measure the problem in a more well-rounded perspective.

Despite those said advantages, I still believe that the downside of using the Internet as the main type of searching machine. The first drawback relates to the authenticity of information since people could change and edit the content of information easily. This would lead to a lack of accuracy in knowledge’s resources and negative effects on learners as the result of researching processes would be detrimentally affected. The second disadvantage is that using Internet for a long time could develop a passive lifestyle and isolate them from society. When users find easy to search information on the Internet rather than communicating with the others, they could spend hours in front of the screen instead of having interaction and collaboration with friends or colleagues. Furthermore, using the Internet through technical devices may lead to deterioration in health, especially cause harm to eyesight.

In conclusion, it seems to me that, regarding the detrimental and beneficial effects of the Internet on research’s processes, the benefits of the Internet are clearly eclipsed by the disadvantages.