Nowadays , women as well as men work full time. Therefore, women and men should share household tasks equally. ( eg cleaning and looking after children ).To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, both men and women can have full-time employment, so there are different views about whether women should take charge of all the household chores like in the past. To me, I completely side with the opinion of distributing domestic tasks evenly among family members when both spouses are working.

To begin with, sharing household would help strengthen the family relationship. When people cooperate to solve problems, they tend to take on the tasks that they have the best ability to do. For example, women can be superior in terms of food preparation, while men prefer doing maintenance work. In this way, husbands or wives can discover their partner’s strengths and weaknesses, and they learn more skills from each other by assisting with the chores. Not only that, sharing housework may be a good way for people to unwind after a difficult day at work. While doing those chores together, they can discuss their experiences, problems at office, and conversely, they can receive words of advice and encouragement from their partners.

Furthermore, if a person, generally a woman, who works full time, has to handle household duty alone, she may become overwhelmed, which leads to several problems. First, those people could feel disrespected since they are occupied with various kinds of housework, while their partners are relaxing or chatting with friends despite the fact that they both can home after an office day. This may lead to conflicts between family members. Second, people have the same amount of time in a day, so handling both housework alone and full-time employment means the burden that they have is much greater than the others. Gradually, they may get stressed out at both office and their home, which may result in exhaustion.

In conclusion, unlike in the past when men used to be the sole breadwinner, and women took responsibility of the household, today, members in a family should share those tasks equally to foster mutual respect and prevent unfortunate consequences.