The past few years have seen a dramatic increase in youngsters who look up to sports stars as role-models although not many famous athletes could have good personal qualities. In my opinion, this trend could bring/result in both negative and positive sides.

On the one hand, young people’s admiration has two main benefits. Firstly, the lessons of overcoming difficulties and obstacles behind the success of renowned sportspeople could inspire adolescents to have a sense of achievement. It is common that in order to become successful, an athlete has undergone various intensive training programs as well as conquers the feeling of failure. Thus, youngsters would have more motivation to pursue their dream when they idolize a determined and hard-working sports star. Secondly, loving a sportsperson could encourage students to make use of their free time to do exercise or play sports, which is beneficial for their physical well-being.

On the other hand, the adoration of youngsters towards sports players might bring some adverse impacts. In fact, most adolescents are extremely impulsive so they could follow bad behaviors of their idols without considering whether they are right or wrong. For instance, big fans and descendants of Lance Armstrong, who is a well-known cycling athlete, may mimic his action of taking performance enhancing drugs while participating in competitions to win at all costs. In addition to this, sports stars often earn a huge amount of/a great deal of money so they tend to immerse themselves in materialistic lifestyle with parties and nightclubs rather than attending charitable activities, which could create the detrimental influence on the personality of their admirers who are at age of puberty. Thus, in order to form youngsters’ good personalities, the parents should educate them to follow only the good virtues of their idols.

In conclusion, idolizing famous athletes could bring both positive and negative influences on young people. Therefore, the adolescents need to be taught about what they should and should not learn from their idols.