Nowadays young people spend too much of their time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and society they live in.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To amuse themselves in their leisure time, young people, nowadays, are spending an overwhelming amount of time in centers and malls. It is a fear that this can bring about negative influences on youth and society. From my point of view, I believe that it has both negative and positive effects.

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of this trend. First, spending plenty of time in the shopping malls can make them waste a great deal of money on unnecessary stuff that usually ends up being left in the wardrobe. Hence, the young might be overwhelmed with financial troubles when they have to pay for other necessary and important items. Next, shopping may take excessive time in the young’s schedule, thus they will not have enough time to do anything else which is more vital than shopping such as working and studying. As a result, not only can young people present low performances ar work and study but also they can slack off their knowledge acquisition, which makes the national education standard drop significantly.

On the other hand, shopping can bring youngsters some benefits that cannot be ignored. Firstly, in terms of the young, it is considered as a method of relaxation. In modern life these days, young people have to deal with lots of pressure from school or workplace, so this trend helps them enjoy their life and effectively release their stress. Besides, society also benefits from this phenomenon. The increase in the amount of consumption will promote manufacture and commerce in the fashion industry, which afterward will create more jobs and boost economic growth.

To sum up, in my opinion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of this trend of going shopping because it depends on the way young people control the amount of time they do this.