Nuclear energy is the best source of power in meeting ever-increasing energy needs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the source of conventional power such as natural gas, solar and wind energy can no longer supply enough for the continuous increase of daily consumption. Thus, some state that nuclear energy is taking over the role of power supply for its unlimited resource. In my point of view, I side with such idea although there are some risks that humans have to accept when utilizing this type of energy.

Indeed, nuclear power is definitely a potential substitution for traditional sources to provide for the increasing demand. Unlike the raw resources which are being used up radically, nuclear energy is proved to be everlasting and is ready for heavy exploitation. Moreover, because this type of power can be mass produced inexpensively by scientific chain reactions, people could easily see the enormous benefits they get by changing to this alternative. Another merit of using this type of energy is that it can be converted to various forms according to household’s needs such as electricity or heat immediately, whereas other traditional power takes complicated steps to change form.

However, the risks of producing nuclear energy should be taken into consideration seriously. Firstly, since the production of this alternative requires a strictly controlled procedure, a slight leak of one molecule could pose a disastrous catastrophe over a large area. Therefore, humans’ lives are always threatened when having these nuclear factories deployed around the globe. Secondly, scientists have found evidences of diseases caused by the waste products from nuclear producing process. As a matter of fact, 12% of residents of Nagasaki province in Japan are the victims of lung cancer after being exposed to nuclear dust from the local factory.

In conclusion, while nuclear energy is the best way to substitute traditional resources at the moment, human should exploit this source with high cautions.