Nuclear energy is a better choice for meeting increasing demand, agree or disagree?

It is true that many countries have been under increasing pressure from finding other sources of energy due to their high demand these days. Some people say we should not use nuclear energy because it is too dangerous, while others claim that it is a superior alternative. Personally, I believe without atomic energy countries will not be able to meet their energy needs for the next century.

It is understandable why people discourage using nuclear energy due to two main reasons. First of all, during the World War, it was used for military purpose and caused serious consequences. In 1945, for instance, the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima destroyed 13 square kilometers of the city and almost 75,000 people were killed immediately. Also, because of its power, the producing process in stations has some certain risks of accident. The radiation from it could be released to the environment, people may be exposed to and suffer from severe health problems. Finally, the expenditure for constructing nuclear power plants is outrageous that several countries cannot be able to afford it.

From the positive side, nuclear energy brings us enormous benefits. Firstly, it is a sustainable energy source meaning it can produce a large amount of power without wasting limited natural resources like coal, oil or gas. Secondly, nuclear power stations are cleaner than fossil fuel power ones, and they could help reduce carbon emissions that cause global warming. With the development of nuclear technology, the risks of accidents are being mitigated. As a result, nuclear power is now being considered as a solution to high oil and gas prices, increasing demand for electricity, and the concern of pollution and climate change.

In conclusion, although nuclear power is regarded as a global threat due to its scaring power and wrong using purpose in the past, I believe the better alternative source of power is nuclear energy which can address issues such as fuel prices and environmental problems.