In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Discuss both these vi

There is an argument whether country government should use huge amount of money on building railway lines for rapid trains or use them on upgrading current public transportation. I completely agree with the latter that it is best to spend the money to improve current public transportation.

On the one side, building railway lines for rapid trains is great because it will make more rapid trains to operate. The more rapid trains that are operating, the bigger the chance for traffic congestion to be overcome. This is because rapid trains has special railway lines where only rapid trains are allowed to pass. Moreover, because of its speed, it will enable its passengers to cut their time needed to transport from one place to other places.

On the other side, upgrading current public transportation such as MRT and bus is also advantageous because it will make them more comfortable to ride. If the public transportation becomes more enjoyable for citizens to ride, they will choose to ride public transportation over their personal transportation, which will lead to the decrease of traffic congestion. Additionally, public transportation has affordable fare which make it has high possibility in making citizens willing to switch from their private vehicles. Thus, the chance for it to overcome traffic congestion is also high.

In conclusion, both building railway lines and upgrading existing public transportation are good choice when a country government has huge amount of money as both of them will help reducing the traffic congestion problem. However, I completely agree with the latter option as it has higher chance in reducing traffic congestion problem because of its affordable fare, that will make public to more likely to switch from their personal transportation.