In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large

sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between

cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public

transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The opinions vary on whether the investment should be made on the development of new transportation infrastructure between towns or on the improvemet of current transportation systems in the cities. In my opinion, it is preferable to allocate money in the new railways in order to increase economic activity via the citizen’s mobility growth.

The argument against this is that existing public transport has its amortization time and should have been constanly improved once in a certain period to in order to keep it availabile. Thus, in countries with a remarkable public transport infrastructure, such as Sweden or Finland, a significant part of a budget is spent on the improvement of current conditions.

However, investing money into a construction of new railways lines can increase the proportion of people who have access to the transport, which lead to uplift of people’s mobility and the increase the economic activity. This argument is more useful for countries with wide territories where there is an obvious necessity in such investment projects. A good example would be Russia or US, where the huge territories should be covered with railway lines in order to ensure the basic economic activity.

By the same token, the implemention of new projects in terms of construction suppose the usage of new technologies that will allow people not only to get access to another cities, but also to travel fast.

In conclusion, although the maintainance of current public transport system is worth investing, the new construction of railways is more vital, especially for countries with largly spread territories.