In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Countries are investing a huge amount of money to improve infrastructure. Few people assume that countries should invest its resources for constructing of new railway lines for fast trains while others assume that money should be invested in improving existing public transport. This essay will discuss why investing in existing public transport has its sides benefits but why constructing new railway lines for fast trains are more beneficial.

Utilizing funds for the construction of the new railway routes is certainly an efficient way to increase mobility and improve transport routes. If new railway lines are constructed, mobility of people and goods would efficiently be completed. In addition, the new routes of railway lines would enable us to reach an inaccessible area of the country. For example, it takes 40 minutes to reach Delhi from Mumbai. Thus, if funds are invested in the construction of the railway routes there will be an increase in mobility and new routes will be constructed.

However, funds can be also invested to improve existing public transport to make it convenient and affordable. If a country public transport system are upgraded then passengers are able to travel more comfortable. Indeed, it will also be affordable to travel for lower-income people. For example, Kathmandu has one of the cheapest bus fares in the world. Thus, if we improve the existing public transport system, passengers can travel conveniently and cheaply.

To conclude, countries are upgrading their infrastructure by investing huge funds. This essay discussed few people assumption on investing funds for the construction of new railway routes between cities while others assumption to utilize funds for upgrading existing public transport. In my opinion, countries should invest their funds for the construction of the railway routes connecting cities so, it will increase mobility and accessibility.