In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Along with the development of economics and society of a country, the infrastructure system needs corresponding innovation. Some people argue that the government should spend money on building fast train railways, while others believe that the budget should upgrade the available public transport.

In my opinion, each of these strategies has its pros and cons, and the authorities should rely on the country's facilities to decide which method they apply.

On the one hand, constructing new traffic systems is convenient since it neither interferes the transportation nor causes congestion. When the city council decides to build a different railway or road, they will take the opportunity to improve the city planning, so they are likely to place the track in another location to serve this purpose. Thus, people can travel on the available roads as usual while the new ones are under construction. This strategy benefits the city's development in the long run as it eliminates the disadvantages of the old system.

On the other hand, it is more economical to utilize available traffic facilities. For example, in big cities with high population density, many families have to shift to make room for a new track. The budget for compensation can be extremely high in some cases. Moreover, this method keeps the existing resources from being wasted, saving time, money, and labor. For instance, expanding a narrow road is easier and cheaper than building a brand new one.

To summarize, both approaches have different advantages. Hence, the government needs investigation and professional advice to find out the best direction for national development.