Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, gender equality has become a huge topic of conversation around the world. One of the arguments is that whether higher education should have the same proportion of male and female pupils in every subject. I partly agree with this idea.

On the bright side, an equal number of men and women contributes to equal opportunities for both groups in terms of career and social status. Some jobs, like lawyer, teacher, and doctor are almost impossible to obtain without proper education. Gender balance in the workforce also reduces social stereotypes and improves mutual respect within society.

However, it is neither realistic nor efficient to have the same number of two sexes in every subject. Firstly, the ratio of boys to girls in most countries is not fifty-fifty. China and some South-East Asia countries are currently struggling with gender imbalance as the number of boy babies in the last few decades far surpassed that of girls. Secondly, some jobs might be more suitable for one group than the other. For example, a builder is a masculine work that fits men better than women because men's body biologically has better physical strength than women's. The third and last reason is that universities should evaluate their students by performance instead of gender. Academically capable students can fully utilize the benefit of high education and potentially become proficient workforce in the future. It will be a waste of time, money, and effort pushing inadequate students into achieving something beyond their ability.