Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female student in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The term of gender equality in education is one of the most concerned issues nowadays. It is often argued that institution should fill the same proportion of men and women in each course. While, the opponent believes that it is impossible as it depends on the student’s choice. In my view, I agree that gender equality in each subject has certain merits, but it also has some drawbacks.

On the one hand, if there is the same number of both sexes enroll in every class, it may enhance male and female beyond their limit. That is to say, students whether they are men or women all have proper education, so that it encourages scholars try new fields which is popular in a particular gender. For instance, there are female students majoring in science and technology which used to be believed that mostly belongs to the man in the past. Therefore, the equality of gender in universities have a great impact on assist students explore their abilities.

On the other hand, the same number of two gender in each subject still have some negative effects such as harming student talent and affecting academic performance. In other words, it is unrealistic for the same applicant in both sexes in each course as it relies on student’s desire, personality and qualification. For example, almost 80% student in Danang University of Foreign Language is girl, and in University of Science and Technology, the percentage of woman is just 10%. So, some fields are more masculine gender while other are the opposite, it is hard to balance the percentage of girl and boy in class.

In conclusion, the issue of gender balance in university have both advantages and disadvantage. I believe that university should let student select their favorite field based on their passion and skills, regardless their gender.