Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female student in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gender equality in education has been concerned around the world. Many people argue that the proportion of men and women should be the same in every course of higher education. In my opinion, I strongly against this idea and in this essay prove my point.

At first, reaching the same number of male and female in each class is so hard as it depends on the candidate. In other word, in university, student can choose their majority based on their skills or abilities and actually, some fields are more likely masculine gender while other are the opposite such as engineering or science. For instance, in Vietnam, university of science and technology have more male students than female students, in opposite side, women tend to choose university of foreign languages. So, there are some subject that are more popular for a particular sex, it is impossible for colleges to enroll the same numbers of boy and girl.

Secondly, it is believed that if universities try to balance the proportion of two genders’ participant, it limits the number of student joining a class and due to their sex, some talented candidates can lose the opportunity of attending their favorite major. As a result, they might feel boring with the course that they can not show their passion and qualification, soon, they will quit the class. Therefore, the equality in both gender create some drawbacks on student’s performance.

In conclusion, the negative effects of the same number of two sexes attending every course at higher education on students’ wishes and educational performance include preventing student from their passionate subject and reducing the academic standards. I believe that students can select what they want to learn and university should find the suitable candidate rely on their talent instead of their gender.