Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasingly the number of sport facilities. Other, however, say that this would have little effect on public health. Discuss both of view and give your own opinions.

A problem of modern societies is the declining level of health in the general population,

with conflicting views on how to tackle this worrying trend. One possible solution is to

provide more sports facilities to encourage a more active lifestyle.

Advocates of this believe that today’ s sedentary lifestyle and stressful working conditions

mean that physical activity is no longer part of either our work or our leisure time. If there

were easy-to-reach local sports that could be offered would cater for all ages, levels of

fitness and interests: those with painful memories of PE at school might be happier in the

swimming pool than on the football pitch.

However, there may be better ways of tackling this problem. Interest in sport is not

universal, and additional facilities might simply attract the already fit, not those who most

need them. Physical activity could be encouraged relatively cheaply, for example by

installing exercise equipment in parks, as my local council has done. This has the added

benefit that parents and children often use them together just for fun, which develops a

positive attitude to exercise at an early age.

As well as physical activity, high tax penalties could be imposed on high-fat food products,

tobacco and alcohol, as excessive consumption of any of these contributes to poor health.

Even improving public transport would help: it takes longer to walk to the bus stop than to

the car.