In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last decades, technology has taken a long step forward in robotic and machine learning. It is predicted that transportations will be automatic, and drivers are no longer needed. From my point of view, this improvement will greatly benefit economics and society.

First, driverless cars mitigate the risk of accidents caused by humans. Thousands of people die or get injured every year due to car accidents, and most of them come from the driver's mistakes, such as over-speeding, alcohol-consuming, and rule violations. An autonomous vehicle is programmed to observe the speed limit and other policies, and it is not affected by external factors like alcohol or painkillers (which can make people sleepy). Moreover, a car never feels tired, it keeps running as long as the fuel is available. Self-driving technology can cover all the problems attached to human health conditions.

A second advantage of developing this system is the contribution to the environment and economics. Since the machine can calculate the optimal trace to travel in real time, congestion is less likely to happen. The improvement in traffic reduces waste of energy and carbon dioxide emission, which will immediately lower air pollution. In addition to that, the reduction brings financial benefits as it makes transportation more productive and saves maintenance costs.

Though human technology has not yet reached this level of innovation, it seems promising compared to what we have already attained so far. There can be no doubt that self-driving vehicles will elevate our lives in the future once we master the technology behind them.