In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Throughout the last decades, there have been conflicting opinions on transportation infrastructure. A number of people assume that investment on high-speed railway construction costs a fortune whereas the opponents advocate that the government should consider the idea of developing current public transport. My essay will clarify both sides of the issue and express my own point of view.

On one hand, the construction of high-speed railway lines will bring about a great income for our country, that is due to the fact that humans easily get attracted by what is new or unfamiliar to them. For example, as a high-speed train was installed in Vietnam, a considerable number of people, mostly youngsters, arrive on train in order to satisfy their needs of experience. Moreover, with a first look at the cutting edge transportation system, a remarkable impression is made in the deep memory of visitors. It is common knowledge that this significantly increases foreign relationships with other nations.

On the other hand, investment on current public transport, in many ways, benefits the inhabitants. First of all, fewer people are at risk of being late for work because of transport deficiency, which can indirectly terribly influence the local economy. Assuming that the idea of a bus with more space, or more public transportations is carried out, people, especially those distant from their work or schools, will arrive on time. What is more, as existing public vehicles are developed, the national budget comes on by leaps and bounds. For example, the amount of money from bus fare will be put into a budget that is later spent on renovating local infrastructure.

For the reasons above, it seems to me that investment should be made on renovating rather than research on new type of transportation.