In a number of countries,some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities.Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about whether funds should be allocated to the construction of high-speed trains or improving the existing public transit system. I believe that public transport facilities are of greater importance.

Investment in fast trains can bring more convenience to long journeys. People nowadays are willing to travel to other cities during the holiday and the fast speed of trains can help save a lot of time on roads. As a result, they are able to enjoying more joyful time in tourist attractions and freeing themselves from the heavy work. In addition, as a job requirement, many businessmen need to go on trips to different countries to cooperate with other workers of their companies. If the travelling time can be reduced to a large extent, this kind of business can happen more frequently and therefore increasing the work efficiency.

Improving the existing public transport can bring plenty of benefits to both society and individuals . Firstly, traffic congestion are very common in many metropolis and more subway lines should be build to relieve the pressure of surface-transportation. Secondly, commuters always consider the safety factors when travelling to and from workplace and public vehicles like bus and metro are much safer than private cars because they can leave drive to professionals. Finally, using more public transportation can improve the air quality by reducing the gas emissions.

In conclusion, there are both advantages of developing fast trains and public transport and I believe that latter need to be perfect urgently.