In the modern era, elderly population is increasing. There has been a remarkable increase in the number of people who believe that this will lead to some problems, while another section of society thinks that older people play a crucial role in society. This essay will delve both sides of these views before drawing a reasonable conclusion. In my opinion, elderly people create problems, such as workforce and health care expenditures in their countries.

Admittedly, the negative implications of older population are often discussed in terms of two key areas, which are health care outcomes and the unemployment rate. Perhaps the main disadvantage of this is that expenditures of public health services might incrase because elderly people are more predisposed to serious diseases than young people. According to a report published by the New York Times, Germany spends most of their annual budgets on public health services owing to their old population. Secondly, the unemployment rate might increase in old populated countries because there are not enough job opportunities in order to hire young people. Thus, the government should be prudent concerning their population studies because old people might be perilous on both economy and employment rate in a country.

Despite these arguments, the positive aspects of old population, such as their traditions should not be underestimated. The primary benefits of this group is that they can reflect a country’s traditional culture thanks to their experiences. For instance, after decades of speculation historians now have fairly accurate information concerning World War II through old people. Furthermore, old people provide help not only information about history but also daily decisions, such as education, work, and even weather predictions. Hence, old population is important to society because they can easily cope with complex issues through their experiences.

In conclusion, the decision as to whether older population has an essential part of a society must be taken in the context of the entire society. However, my personal view is that this group causes some serious problems such as illnesses, which in turn leads to health expenditures.