The number of people living to 100 is increasing. What do you think the reasons of it? Does it have some effects on individual and society?

Following the development of technology, a higher living standard has been established, as a result, it is currently witnessing an increase in the number of people living to a hundred. Although it shows how good the condition nowadays, it also poses controversial matters on the effect which these old people can bring to the society. Further in this essay, I want to discuss about the on-going phenomena as well as some effects it might have on individual and the world.

First and foremost, it is obvious that in a peaceful time, people tend to pay more attention to their materialistic living, therefore, a higher standard is applied to every single person. For that reason, scientists and inventors develop new pieces of technological devices, effective treatments, all to make the environmental condition better than ever. Along with such inventions, citizen’s awareness has been significantly raised, people know to take care of their health and avoid potential harm in advance. Accordingly, it is no strange to see a person living up to 100 years old.

On the other hand, the long lifespan itself may not be a gift to many people. They are often under an uncomfortable influence of sicknesses and illnesses, which makes them suffer. Moreover, they are sometimes being considered as a burden not just in the society but also in the family. These people are constantly required with medical attention, bringing inconveniences to themselves. Another point worth mentioning is that the rising number of elders can lead to a pension distress for the government.

In conclusion, due to the great innovations, human have better quality of living and manage to prolong their age. In spite of some disadvantages, these hundred-year-old people are still a crucial spiritual value to each family and deserve to be honored for their contribution.