The number of people who are overweight or obese is far higher than in previous generations. What are the reasons for this and how can the problem be tackled ?

In this day and age, obesity is a vitally important issue that should be taken care of and solved. This phenomenon is symptomatic of an unhealthy lifestyle and the bad habits that still exist in modern society. In this essay, I will first discuss the causes of this problem and then propose some solutions for it.

Chief among the causes of this issue is an unhealthy diet. What I mean by this is that some people choose fast food or wholefood/ processed food /prepared food instead of home food because of its convenience when they study or work. Besides that, due to the strong/huge influence of other cultures, some people consider fast food like snacks, so they are very fond of it and consume it too much/ over consume it, especially children.

To tackle this problem, the government can increase taxes on fast food, and individuals need to control their diets by making a plan to stay away from fatty foods.

Inactivity is another problem that causes obesity. There will be an imbalance when we take in some energy on a daily basis, but do not burn it out of our bodies. Sometimes, we are snowed under with marking and paperwork and have jobs that force us to sit in front of the computer for the whole day work in a chair all day, so we do not have many opportunities for physical exercises/ activity. For instance, office workers who have to work for 8 hours a day, or students who are busy/swamped with homework but forget to take care of themselves. A solution for the government is to encourage the organization of sports competitions in a school or office environment. Additionally, people can search for short time exercises that can be applied while they are working. Most importantly, individuals have to be aware of the necessity of physical activity in their daily life.

In conclusion, obesity has gradually become popular in many countries, due to some reasons such as/ ranging from unhealthy diets to inactivity. This is a serious issue if we do not solve it thoroughly, it can lead to many other diseases. In my perspective, the main responsibility for solving the problem lies with the government and individuals in society.