Obesity is an increasing public health problem in some parts of the world.

Explain some possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

Obesity has become a serious public health issue mainly because of readily available fast foods due to the advancement in technology and the increase in remote workers and homeschoolers among other reasons. Luckily, there are many ways of combating this problem.

Obesity is on the rise due to the numerous fast food restaurants on every block and with the advancement in technology, various startups are running food delivery services. For example, Doordash delivers foods within minutes of order placement. This means that fast foods are very readily available. Fast foods also contain a lot of trans fat and sugar which contribute greatly to obesity.

Another reason for the increase in the number of obese people in our society is telecommuting and homeschooling. Nowadays, a vast number of people work from home as such, they do not do as much needed daily exercise. Homeschooling is on the rise now as well and after classes, children still do not run around the home but they rather sit down in front of their computers or video games. These contribute massively to the obesity epidemic.

Fortunately, there are solutions to help everyone stay healthy. Investing in healthy meal alternatives is a great start. Addition of physical education to homeschool curriculum is another important way of getting children into physical fitness. Encouraging workers to take a break to walk will increase productivity amongst remote worker. Education of the general public on the need to curb obesity by creating public parks for exercising and encouraging fitness. Increasing the taxes on fast foods while reducing the taxes on healthy meals is a great way the government can help. The government could provide subsidy on farm products.