The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life.To what extent do you agree or disagre

It is argued that the idea of way of life as believed by old folks of our society is inept and lacking when faced with the challenges of modern times. This essay agrees with the above notion . Firstly, this essay will discuss how some conventional beliefs about family life have been found to be ineffectual in today's world. Secondly, this essay will expose how the strict roles given to each sex do not bode well with contemporary lifestyle.

In earlier times, it was believed that men and women should marry within their own community, race, or caste so that the couple would have similarities to lead a happy life together. But this model has been rejected by young people. Nowadays, we see many interracial couples joining in the bond of marriage and living fruitful lives. This is evident by the fact that many marriages that were arranged on the basis of caste and creed have met their fate in divorce courts.

Traditional views of society tend to denote strict roles to each gender. Women were only allowed to restrict themselves to the matters of the household and not venture out into the world to earn a livelihood whhich was the responsibility of the man. This old fashioned vies has been challenged time and again as more and more women find themselves reaching the echelons of society where only men used to traverse. There are countless examples of woman power, the foremost that comes to mind is that of Indira Nooyi, CEO of PEPSI company, who had shown to the world that women can achieve that which most men cannot.

In conclusion, this essay reiterates that the stereotypical thinking of yesteryears about the actions and behaviour of men and women have been proved to be incompetent in modern times.