One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, medical assistance is provided to a greater part of population than in the past, and as result, longevity and average lifespan are rising. However, I do not think that this equals to have a better life.

On one hand, thanks to modern surgery many patients can receive organs’ transplant, most of the injuries are healed and unbelievable successes have been achieved by biotechnologies. Most of all, many deathly diseases were almost eliminated throughout the last century.

On the other hand, living longer does not mean that the quality of life has also improved. Nowadays there are many elders who live until 90 years old thanks to machines and pills inside rest homes. But in my opinion spending decades assisted by nurses, unable to do anything by ourselves it is a meaningless and not worth the effort.

To sum up, more attention should be paid to how people is living more than how much they are living., using more wisely the available resources.