one of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

Today, the science of medicine has enhanced among other sciences as a result of industrial revolution and post-modernism in a way that it seems to be reaching its peak of success. Thus we are witnessing life span to maximize, less people dying from diseases and children being saved from childhood illnesses. The contemporary world is offering public health care via insurance companies not to cost much. However these achievements come at a price. I personally believe that the answer to the question of whether these improvements are more advantageous or not, is yes, there are more beneficial than one could argue with. The first reason is that these advancements have resulted in saving many people from suffering and dying.

Many years ago, it was only natural to die from giving birth, getting sick or simply just being old, however modern science has grown so bright that cancer, AIDS and other fatal diseases can be either cured or at least dealt with. This is the first merit that advancements of science has brought us. No longer must we watch our family members, among many other people suffer and the penalty of death since the cure of them has been discovered by science.

Secondly, as life span expands more, healthier people tend to have better achievements in their lives. Once you pass a certain age, you get to master all your abilities and start to make contributions. Our society is proud to give crucial roles to more experienced individuals to play. This owes to the fact that a healthy mind results from a healthy body. If ever brilliant minds such as Steven Hawking for instance, had to lose their lives for the lack of knowledge, where would our science world be today? Therefore, in my opinion, advancements in health care is a cause as well as an effect of improvements in science and technology.

However, many claim that the recent enhancements of science in terms of curing people and expanding life expectancy has led our world to suffer from over population. Therefore, our planet is no longer able to provide us with food and water. Scientists reckon that if the growth in population continues to sharply increase, our planet will be destroyed out of pollution, extinction of animals and plants and devoid of supplies in no time. A large number of people are undergoing war, malnutrition and diseases despite all the medical achievements as a result of over population.

To summarize, l would like to think that our race has chosen the right goal but not the right approach in many cases. If only we could spread the knowledge and culture of controlling the reproduction of our generations, we would be able to claim that increasing life expectancy is all beneficial to us. This is only possible by seeking help from science itself.