One of the most serious problems that cities now face is crime. Why are crime rates increasing in cities? What are the most effective measures to tackle crime in urban areas?

It is undeniably true that the world has faced a myriad of serious problems, and one of those is the significant increase in crime rate in cities. Primary reasons can be noted as to why such escalation happens, but possible solutions can be done to mitigate this negative issue.

To begin with, urban dwellers frequently experience difficulties in meeting their basic needs. This means many of them hardly find jobs to keep their lives financially stable while some embark on a life of crime as a way to make a living. People who are in extreme poverty, for instance, have no choice but to engage in unlawful acts such as burglary, abduction, or drug dealing that help them make easy money without considering the consequences of these actions. Another reason is wealth inequality, which is clearly evident in major cities across the world. The rich with their enormous incomes are provided with high-class services and comprehensive health care. In contrast, those with low salaries live in slums or informal settlements and have inadequate access to basic sanitation programs or facilities.

One of the primary measures is that local authorities should strengthen the security levels of lands and properties. Particularly, the installation of more surveillance cameras at every corner of the entire residential community help deter potential offenders. In Ho Chi Minh City, over 2,500 CCTVs, which were set up in 2018, reduced a fifth of its crime rate compared to the same period last year, according to the report of RMIT University. Additionally, local government should have thorough and practical solutions to eliminate unemployment by establishing job centers and free vocational programs for youngsters and ex-prisoners. As a consequence, criminal cases will decrease tremendously as these people can now afford their living expenses through legal jobs.

In its entirety, urban regions have been dealing with a variety of pressing issues including crime with different causes. Security improvement and availability of more work opportunities prevent the offense outbreak in cities.