The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that the most effective solution to tackle environmental issues is the increase in fuel prices. While I accept that the measure could bring many positive influences in the short-term period, I partly believe that the raise environmental awareness of inhabitants is more important to combat this global problem.

To start with, raising fuel costs such as petrol, oil, and natural gases could help address environmental issues in the world currently. Industrial sectors especially fossil fuel power plants ought to find alternative energy sources inclusive nuclear and renewable to replace. This would lead to fewer greenhouse gases and emissions which are released into the atmosphere as well as to mitigate global warming and pollution. Another reason is that the rise in fuel prices that make commuting costs rise significantly. People who live downtown tend to use public transportations, carpool, or cycle to work instead of driving private cars. Therefore, this could also help reduce the number of exhaust fumes produced in the environment.

On the other hand, rising fuel costs are not the best approach to deal with the global environment. This is because, in recent years, the cost of fuel is enormously rising however the number of personal automobiles still keeps at an alarming rate. Moreover, educating the citizens about the cruciality of protecting the Earth will address and mitigate environmental concerns. When people have full awareness of this, they are willing to take action to save natural environment and other related issues. For instance, individuals will attend environmental protection programs where healthy lifestyles are encouraged and people's connection in the community is heightened.

In conclusion, although the increasing fuel costs could somewhat contribute to environmental conditions, it seems to me that improving people’s environmental protection consciousness is by far the most practical solution.