online currencies have become more common in recent years.

why is this happening?

is this a positive or negative development?

The issue of digital currencies have sparked a heated discussion among people these days, thereby making them more popular. The distrust in today's monetary system and the practicality of its use seem to be the main triggers why such trend occurs, in my opinion this will result in positive and negative development, which I will further outline below.

In regard to the reasons, many deem that current monetary and banking systems are a scam. This is because these have some flaws namely interest rate and inflation. To further explain, people, no matter how long they have saved money, will be disappointed by the fact that their value of cash significantly decreases. Then, the governments and its central banks are able to alter their interest rate according to their interests. Compared to digital currencies, they are resistant to such demerits. Furthermore, the use of digital money such as bitcoin is way more practical. People can transfer money to others' digital wallets easily, with the transaction security being guaranteed, thanks to the blockchain technology.

Moving on to my argument, firstly, it will be advantageous for individuals, businesses and states to track their transactions. This prevent serious financial crimes like corruption and bribery from happening. Nevertheless, the fact that this payment tool is no profoundly regulated is the threat to its use. People may potentially experience financial loss if their digital accounts or wallets are hacked. When this occurs, they cannot regain their assets or take the case to the court.

Taking everything into account, the reasons behind the popularity of this currency lie on the disbelief in the current system and its effortless use. I would contend thatbthis is equally beneficial and detrimental development. The ability to track transactions is a positive aspect as long as this currency is comprehensively regulated by the authorities.