Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of job required?

In recent years, online shopping is more popular ever than before. This trend has positive effects for the environment and jobs in the short run, but it may do many detrimental impacts in the long terms.

In terms of the environment, online shopping has both positive and negative impacts. The proliferation of online shopping helps to reduce the amount of carbon dioxide from privacy transports. For example, in the past, people had to go to the fashion shop when they wanted to buy clothes and fashion items. Meanwhile, nowadays, due to the advanced technology, people can stay at home and order a great deal of items from clothes to costumer products via the Internet. That leads to reduce the petrol fuels for the car ownership. In contrast, the proliferation of online shopping leads to overconsumption and overspending. People tend to purchase many unnecessary items which can be wasted as quickly as come. The more waste ending up in landfills means the higher pollution in the environment.

In positive terms of jobs, online shopping creates various jobs and more employment opportunities, such as online grocery personal shoppers and delivery drivers. However, in the long term, the growth of online shopping can lead to the bankruptcy of many traditional retailers. The number of jobless people might outnumber the number of starts-up people based on the development of online shopping. The high unemployment rate might put heavy pressure on national budget as well as leads to many crimes to make a living.

In conclusion, online shopping has many positive impacts on the environment and the labor market, however, in the long terms, the benefit might be overshadowed by negative consequences.