Only government action can solve the housing shortage in big cities. To what extent do you agrre or disagree?

Much attention has been drawn to whether the local authority can resolve the lack of housing phenomenon. This essay, however, believes that both the government and the citizens are responsible. Not only should the government support its population with the financial aspect, but people can join hands to give charitable donations.

As for the role of government, it can provide funds for building houses. Assuming the basic needs of a person are not met, the individual himself will not make a good living, let alone contributing to his society. Therefore, the national budget should be spent on constructing apartment complexes which cost lower than the average price of the market. For instance, the outskirts areas nearby an industrial zone are suitable places to build housing without the expensive costs. The banks, moreover, can help by offering suitable form of loans for people with low income.

In terms of each citizen's role, people of higher social class can aid those of lower ones. This is due to the fact that the elite society members, who supposedly possess 50% of the total asset of a nation, own many enterprises. From this angle, these people can improve the house-shortage situation by creating job opportunities for the community. Besides, philanthropic foundations can be established to provide education for children coming from poor households. Getting a college degree is the most effective way to make money and in turn buy a house.

In conclusion, lack-of-housing can neither be the responsibility of the government nor its population, but a duty for both of the parties. While construction of housing complex from the government can be helpful, charitable donations from the rich can assist as well.