Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Two forms of conveying information that are predominant in the modern world are verbal and written communication. From a personal perspective, it is worth underlining that a spoken dialogue permits more flexibility than writing does. By way of comparison, hardly can we deny the precision and formality characteristics that are typical of a written document.

To assess the benefits of orally delivering information, we must bring a sense of genuineness and interaction into focus. Assuming an individual, for example, could speak eloquently with assertiveness, no barriers would be too formidable to cross in terms of persuasion. Not only is the conversation more accessible due to the falling or rising tone of voice, but body gestures and facial expressions also show the depth of emotion that the speaker is experiencing. A leader, for instance, displaying his passions and dedication through works can inspire his followers and lift morale. Another plus point to mention is that in this digital era where communication heavily relies upon social media, a direct spoken conversation would facilitate deeper mutual connection.

Although so far, it can be deduced that oral communication is of the essence, we must take into account the ability to keep a record of written communication before jumping into conclusions of any kind. Being stored on papers or computers, these pieces of information are often served as legal documents, business contracts, and medical records. As a result, it is worth mentioning that these documents are treated as proof that can be used to initiate prosecution against someone. On top of that, written texts can reflex one's personality according to my personal observation. Detail-oriented people pay attention to their handwriting to make it legible, whereas hasty individuals tend to pay less attention.

Taking both sides into perspective, I arrive at the conclusion that neither is better than the other, and it all comes down to specific circumstances that the speaker and the listener are in. I personally believe both oral and written communications are sets of skills that need sharpening if people want to improve their relationships.